Day 2

Today was one of those days. You know them. You start the morning with the best of intentions to do one thing but you end up doing something completely different.

I planned to spend much of today building the content on my WordPress site. Now that I have said “Hello World“, I figure I had best get things set up so the world can say ‘Hello’ back! Instead, I had to focus on my real job of being a kitchen designer. There were clients who needed me so they came first.

Rather than tell you what I accomplished today on this venture to set up a design blog, I will instead tell you what it took to get to this point. I started with the idea of creating a blog a few months back. I had attended a seminar about the use of social networking in business today and realized that things had come a long way since the original days of personal blogs. There were now real business benefits that could be gained from the use of a blog.

The presenter quoted a statistic that 71% of the adult population in the US now prefers to communicate via email. I had figured the percentage was increasing but I hadn’t guessed that it was quite that high!

About four weeks ago, I was sitting in a hot tub with a friend who also has her own business (in a field completely unrelated to design) and we were blue skying about business ideas.  We came up with a few ideas that we both agreed that we wanted to pursue and for me, one of those was to figure out what blogging was all about.

Three weeks ago, I went to the library and took out two books – ‘Blogging for Dummies’ by Susannah Gardner and ‘WordPress for Dummies’ by Lisa Sabin-Wilson. I read them cover to cover and tried out all the suggested blog links that they recommended. It was eye opening seeing all the things that people, businesses and organizations are doing with blogs these days. I jotted down a whole list of ideas and started to develop a plan for how I could implement a blog without throwing out my existing website and all the other content that I had developed in the 14 years that my company has been in business.

That brings me to yesterday. Yesterday was the day that I decided that WordPress.com was the way for me to get started on the blog portion of my plan. I went to their website and signed up. In roughly two hours, I was all registered, had the basics of my blog page established and had yesterday’s post on line.  The software stepped me through everything! The most difficult part was settling on a template that I wanted to use for the proper look of the blog. Boy, was this a lot easier than when I created my first webpage back in 1999!

Yesterday, I had three pages up on the blog – the blog page, about and contact. They contained no photos or hyperlinks. I added those today in about 45 minutes. Those three pages still have some ‘noise’ that I want to eliminate but tomorrow is another today. With any luck, I get that all cleaned up and continue on advancing the plan. Until then…..

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

