Making Good Progress

Some days go surprisingly as planned. Today was one of them. I was able to focus on the blog set up after lunch and figure a few things out. Yay!!

I had seen other blogs where a menu tab jumped the user from the blog to the company website and I knew I wanted to add this feature to the blog. (You can see my successful result above as the ‘Website’ tab.) As it turns out, this was the most challenging thing for me to figure out today. Being one of those individuals who jumps right in without taking the time to read the directions, I didn’t waste any time looking for instructions. As it turns out, I probably should have. This was a feature that wasn’t in the tutorials but I ultimately found it in the “WordPress for Dummies” book, Chapter 13. I had to set up a ‘custom navigation menu’ to override the default navigation menu that came with the theme I chose two days ago for the blog. Who knew?! Once I did that, I could create a tab and point it towards the website. Now if you are a techie, you are probably saying “yeah, so what?” but being a kitchen designer, this was a major accomplishment! 🙂

With a win under my belt, I moved on to setting up ‘links’ to my portfolio (easy, since the software practically does it for you) and  adding ‘widgets’ (even easier, because the software DOES do it for you).

In the course of looking at other people’s blogs for validation that what I wanted to do actually could be done and while searching out the web addresses of places on the internet where my work is shown, I stumbled across a blog of a past client! I added her as my first entry on my Blogroll….Pam King at Paleo Table. There is a great picture of Pam standing in her kitchen that she and I designed along with her builder several years ago. (You can see the full kitchen on my Houzz portoflio.) How very exciting! It was a good day.

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

