My Favorite Keystone

I spent much of my day yesterday struggling with making changes to my company website. Unlike the blog software which does all the ‘behind the scenes’ programming for you, my website is written in the foreign languages of software code. Years ago, I designed the layout and the graphics for the website but I had to turn to my husband (the software engineer) to actually make them a reality. He spent a weekend or so setting things up and he even wrote snippets, or bits of reusable code, to make it easy for me to maintain the site over the years. I never took on anything radical but I could change the year on the copyright and add new photography when I shot a new kitchen. Yesterday though, was a real test of his programming prowess. I wanted to move the buttons and completely change how the site looked. Would I be able to do it with what he had set up?

Before I started, I made a back up of the website so, in case I failed miserably, I could always roll back. Then I forged ahead. There was a fair amount of trial and error and some false starts, but by the end of the day, I had all the pages changed and ready to upload to my service provider. I had a short list of things for which I would need his technical assistance to fine tune. I was impressed! Here I was, a kitchen designer whose last course in programming was in Fortran on punch cards, and I was successfully maintaining my website because it was well-designed. Woo hoo!

Yesterday, I posted about the use of keystones in design. The term keystone is also used to describe anything or anyone who provides, as thefreedictonary.com defines, “a central cohesive source of support and stability.” That would be my husband. Even when he isn’t around to lean on, he has done something that make my life easier. Thanks, dear! Effective today, you’re my ‘Keystone’. 🙂

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Finishing Details and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

