A Great Idea!

I get a fair number of design and construction trade magazines that show up in my mail box or my email. I don’t know about you, but mine often stack up and then get scanned when I have time to kill. (Like on an airline trip or at the dentist’s office). Generally,  I flip through fairly quickly scanning for interesting design ideas or trade news and then either recycle, share with a colleague or delete depending on whether I have a paper copy or an e-copy in hand.

After all these years in the design business, it isn’t often that I come across a great new idea but today was a little bit unusual in that regard. I had an appointment and was scanning through a few of my stacked-up publications. I came across a new product that should prove to be very helpful for folks looking to do some minor kitchen remodeling.  Basically, this new product is a sink designed with an apron that fits over the top of an existing sink cabinet. You might say, “yeah, so what?”, but this is a novel idea in the kitchen and bath industry!

Typically when we design with apron-style sinks (also called farm sinks because you often saw them in farmhouses), the cabinet that is going to hold the sink needs to be custom-made or at least custom-cut upon installation to fit the apron on the apron sink. Every manufacturer’s apron is a little bit different in size and many of them are deeper than the depth of the top upper drawer head. Heaven forbid if a client wants to retrofit an EXISTING kitchen with a new farm sink. That would require replacing or seriously retrofitting the existing sink cabinet to handle the new dimensions. It is no small feat…but not any more!

The product I saw today is a sink with an apron that fits over the top of an existing sink cabinet so that no change is needed to the installed cabinets (short of removing the fake drawer head) to switch from a top-mount to an apron sink. Brilliant! I don’t know why nobody ever thought of this before, and maybe they have, but I haven’t seen this concept on the market before now. The product is called the Vault Sink and it is put out by Kohler. I added it to the Project Partners Design Shop because I just LOVE the idea. (And, no, I don’t get anything from Kohler for telling you about this product.) Even if you don’t need a new apron-style sink, check it out. We designers have a new product to add to our remodeling bag of tricks! Yay! 😉

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

