Are You Composting in Your New Kitchen?

There is a relatively new product on the market to facilitate composting in better kitchens. It is essentially a stainless steel basket system with odor protection that can be installed seamlessly into your counter top.

Blanco Solon Compost System Installed in Counter

The concept is that kitchen scraps can be scraped into the removable basket and taken out to your compost area when desired. No more unsightly pile of scraps on the counter or a special compost container to take up space on the counter.

Blanco Solon Compost System Removable Basket

 

 

 

 

The concept looks great and the optimist in me wants to believe that it works great as well. After all, it is put out by Blanco, and I love their products when it comes to undermount sinks so I want to believe that I would love this product too. However, every time I show it to a client and try to get someone, anyone, to give it a go, I get hit with a question highlighting a potential negative…does it get stinky?, what if it doesn’t work?…then I’ll have a hole in my counter, is it big enough?, etc. Nobody seems willing to take the leap on this one so I can get answers to these questions.

So, I’m asking….have any of you tried this product or have a friend who has one? I would love to hear what you/they think of it. I am a firm believer in reducing the amount of compostible stuff we put in the landfill and this product seems like a great idea that I ought to design in every new kitchen except I can’t seem to find a taker! Are there any takers out there?

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Products for the Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are You Composting in Your New Kitchen?

  1. Pingback: We’re Composting! | Project Partners Design

  2. Lou says:

    We are having this installed in our new countertop and am really looking forward to it!

  3. Joanna says:

    We are very happy with the Solon. The quality is exceptional. Our cabinet maker suggested we buy an extra bucket to use as a future replacement and he immediately changed his mind when he saw how heavy-duty it is. The size is just right, we empty it every other day or as needed. Best of all is how cleanable it is. The bucket and lid can go in the DW. The ring that creates a seal between the bucket at the whole in the counter is designed for ease of cleaning as well. Every new kitchen should have an inset compost bucket.

    • Theresa says:

      This is excellent information. Thanks! I so hope to be able to use one of these systems soon so I can get first-hand experience with it. It seems like such a fantastic idea if you have the counter void to make it work.

  4. Hi, I have used one of these with a client. Like any compost bin, you would want to empty it on a daily basis or they will get stinky and attract fruit flies. The size is similar to those countertop versions, and I don’t think they need to be any larger than that or it would take several days to fill. Then it would get smelly. As long as you have the cabinet space to drop it into, it makes composting easy without cluttering up the countertops.
    Also, the fully biodegradable bags (Bio Bags) are great for keeping the bin clean.
    Kayron Brewer, CKD

    • Theresa says:

      Thanks so much for the feedback. Hopefully I will get to use one of these products soon! I saw your work on Houzz, by the way. The kitchen where you used this system is absolutely lovely!

Leave a Reply

