Sometimes My Clients Just Make My Day

Thinking back to my upbringing, I credit my mother for teaching me to treat others as I would want to be treated. She is the one who trained me that ‘what goes around, comes around’, ‘good begets good’ and ‘do unto others as you would have done unto you’. Since starting my business almost 15 years ago, this also reflects how I strive to treat my clients.  Most days I don’t reflect on it much but this week I was the recipient of a wonderful gesture by one of my clients that I just had to share.

A few months back, we ordered a mirror frame for this client and, unfortunately, we did a math error upon ordering and ordered it 6″ too small. Once it was discovered that an error was made, I immediately ordered a replacement and got it on its way, but the customer and the installer were delayed by two weeks while we waited for it to be made and shipped.

Being a custom piece, there wasn’t much use for the first frame unless we found another bathroom that needed the same size piece so I had directed the client to use it for materials if the installer needed it. Otherwise, it was, unfortunately, waste. Unbeknownst to me, my client went through the effort of photographing the incorrect mirror frame, listing it on Craig’s List and selling it. She could have easily just pocketed the profit and it would have been a small recompense for the inconvenience I had caused. Instead, here is the note that I received when the check arrived in my mailbox.

“Hi Theresa,

I finally got around to listing the incorrectly sized mirror frame on Craig’s list and it has just been sold.  Enclosed is a check for the amount it was sold for.  I know that the purchase of the new mirror frame came out of your pocket and although I’m sure the sale amount doesn’t come close to covering your cost, I want to help.  

I hope all is well and that you are busy but still have enough time to relax and enjoy life!”

I am so lucky and grateful to work with and for such wonderful people!

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Customer Service and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

