Making Good on Victorian Style

One of the basic tenets of good kitchen and bath design is the use of repetition.  For example, if I use an arch over a doorway, I am likely to repeat the same arched shape in a hood surround or a window valance so the design is repeated around the room and makes the design tie together. This is just one of the things I consider every time I am laying out a new design. I have to admit though, that it never really occurred to me that a good city planner does the same thing.

Painted Ladies

The Painted Ladies of Alamo Square

Alamo Square Playground

Playground at Alamo Saure

A few days back I was walking around Alamo Square in San Francisco. There were tour buses going by and lots of visitors strolling the park to see the “Painted Ladies” – a string of much-photographed, beautiful examples of Victorian-style homes in the city. As I crossed through the park, I noticed that the kids’ playground tied in with the neighborhood because the play structures were little “Victorian homes”. Very clever, I thought.

New Victorians

New Construction Near Alamo Square

Turning the corner and walking on, I passed a new complex going up with a more contemporary feel. They omitted the  historical gingerbread found on the older Victorians but repeated the same shapes on the facades.  That simple use of repetition  with a more sleek and modern style made all the difference to make the new feel a part of the old.

Kudos to whatever architectural review board, city planner or conscientious builder made that happen!

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Design, Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

