Beauty is Only Skin Deep

How many times have you heard that old adage? While I rarely use these exact words in day-to-day conversation, I often find myself explaining to clients that my goal in any kitchen or bath design project is to not only make it look good in the short term but to have it last a lifetime. I don’t want the beauty in my designs to only be skin-deep; I want it to be built by people who do quality work on a foundation of fine craftsmanship that will last until they are ready for something different.

Recently, I completed remodeling a powder room in my own home. While we were at it, we made sure everything was up to code. So, it came as a great surprise when we started having a sewer issue a few weeks ago. It wasn’t pretty. What went down in the toilet came up in the garage stationary tub. How could that be? I called the plumber out to rod the line and when he tried he couldn’t do it. The snake went in but just hit a muddy dead end about 40 feet out. Hmmm.

Now a neighbor had told me that the previous owner had the sewer lines all replaced a few years before we bought the place so there really shouldn’t be any reason why they would be clogged. We put the camera down the line figuring we would identify where the powder room line joined up and see if we could see any problem. We all watched that camera go through the main line and I was pleased to see that the pipe was spotless…no sludge, no cracks, no roots. Exactly what you want to see in your sewer main EXCEPT we didn’t see any pipe that connected in from the powder room. Hmmm.

This meant it was time to do a little digging. We dug down at the point where the joint should have been only to find this…

Improperly Replaced Sewer Lines

Improperly Replaced Sewer Lines

Whoever had done the work for the previous owner only did half the job! They pulled new pipe through the main line but completely missed the secondary line. Whether this was accidental or intentional, I will never know. I don’t even know who did the work in order to make sure I avoid this contractor in the future.

All I can say is I have yet another demonstration of why you want to hire quality contractors and use quality materials. My powder room still has it’s beautiful new skin but, as you can see, it was only skin deep!

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Customer Service, Product Care, Products for the Bath, Products for the Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

