It’s a Dog’s Life

Back in 2009, a couple who were frustrated with cutting and managing photo clippings for their home remodeling project came up with the idea of an on-line photo database for homeowners. They created the website www.Houzz.com. In just four years, the site has taken off and grown to the point that it now houses over two million photographs that have been downloaded into peoples’ ideabooks over 280 million times! There are over 2 million professionals from the home construction and remodeling trades who have their portfolios on Houzz. Since early 2012, I have been one of those design professionals. I have roughly 175 photos from my portfolio showing my work in 51 homes over the years.

I find it both informative and interesting to go through my on-line photos from time to time to see which ones get frequently downloaded and, based on peoples’ comments, see why they were downloaded. In this way, I learn and continue to grow as a designer. Reading comments in English, French, Dutch, Russian and more, I also find it fascinating how good design ideas translate. A good design idea is a good design idea the world over.

BrookhavenRecently I took a gander through my on-line photos and found it interesting that my number-one all-time most-downloaded photo is from a laundry room that I designed back in 2010. While there are lots of folks who like the folding area with open space below or the functionality of the room as a laundry and mud room space, a huge number of people have shared that photo because of what I did to incorporate the dog’s cage into the space. Comments show me that people have taken this idea and shared it to create special places not only for their own dog but also for their kitties and their litter boxes and even for their children with a secret play cubbie.

This makes me smile. While I know I have designed thousands of spaces that have made families happy over the years, I find it pretty rewarding to know that I have also brought comfort and happiness to their four-legged family members. Let’s keep those tails a-waggin’. 😉

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a Dog’s Life

  1. Pingback: The Happiness of Being Hand-Picked | Project Partners Design

Leave a Reply

